Profile of the Mayor

Cllr. Tjhetane Mofokeng is the Executive Mayor of Dihlabeng Local Municipality and has a strategic and political responsibility. He is the first citizen of the towns Bethlehem, Clarens, Fouriesburg, Paul Loux and Rosendal forming part of the Dihlabeng Local Municipality and he represents the municipality at ceremonial functions.

Mofokeng was born on the 8 September 1968 in Bohlokong Township, Bethlehem. He obtained his primary and secondary education in Bethlehem and matriculated in 1968 at Tiisetsang High School. His political activism started in his early teenage years and he has never looked back. Mofokeng pursued his studies at the University of Western Cape to study B.Proc up to second year level, but because of his involvement in politics and financial constraints , he could not complete his degree and had to come back home. His financial constraints did not, however, prevent his desire for education and his willingness to change the lives of his fellow people.

He undertook distance education and obtained the following qualifications:

  • Programme Certificate in Law – Unisa
  • National Diploma in Local Government- Belgravia Institute
  • CPMD- Wits Business School
  • CPLD- Wits Business School and is currently enrolled for Master’s in Degree in Public Management with WBS

Mofokeng is an ANC Bohloko Branch Chairperson, former ANC Thabo Mofutsanyana Regional Secretary , former member of ANC Provincial Executive Committee, Executive Mayor of Dihlabeng Local Municipality and is currently serving his second term. He was the first Mayor to complete his full term as Mayor of Dihlabeng Local Municipality and immediately thereafter be appointed for second term in office.