The Dihlabeng Local Municipality has 40 seats. There were 66,738 registered voters in the local municipality for the 2011 local government elections. The highest voter turn-out was achieved in Ward 2 with 62.40 %. The lowest voter turn-out in the municipality was in Ward 4 with 49.59 %. The average voter turn-out achieved in the 2011 municipal elections was 57.14 %.Following the 2011 local government elections, four political parties are represented in the Council. The African National Congress was returned as the majority party with 30 seats. The Democratic Alliance holds 8 seats and the Congress of the People and the Freedom Front Plus hold one seat each in the Council. No independent councillor was elected to the Council.