MINUTES OF A SPECIAL MEETING OF THE MUNICIPAL COUNCIL OF DIHLABENG LOCAL MUNICIPALITY HELD IN THE TOWN HALL, CIVIC CENTRE, BETHLEHEM ON TUESDAY, 19 JULY 2011 AT 10:25

PRESENT

Councillors (Ms) M A Noosi - Speaker

T M H Mofokeng - Executive Mayor

J F Bonthuys C C Harrington (Mrs) S M Jacobs P D Lengoabalala (Mrs) L U Makhalema

T A Masoeu

(Mrs) D M Mofokeng (Ms) M K Mofokeng M St. V Mofokeng R P Mofokeng (Ms) T M Mofokeng T V Mofokeng (Mrs) H E Mokoena (Mrs) M A Mokoena

M J Mokoena

(Ms) M R Mokoena

P P Mokoena (Ms) N M Mosupa S Msimanga N N Nzimande

P H J Olivier

J J H Pienaar (Mrs) M Prior

J M Radebe

M M Radebe

(Mrs) A L Rakhothule-Mkhwanazi

T P Ramaele

G J Roetz

T J Seekane

(Ms) M E Sempe

M D Shabalala

D Stevens

T J Tseki

M J Tshabalala

(Mrs) T J Tshabalala

B D L Venter

IN ATTENDANCE:

MessrsT E Tsoaeli - Municipal Manager

M E S Mthwalo - Director: Corporate Services

R Provis - Chief Financial Officer

A B Masuku - Director: Public Works

Mmes T G Hadebe - Director: LED

M A B Mosima - Acting Director: Community Services/

Manager: Solid Waste

MessrsT S Morare - Manager: Internal Audit

P V Tlhabanelo - Manager: Supply Chain

Mmes T Maake - PA of the Municipal Manager

J Etzebeth - Acting Manager: Secretariat

RECORDING OFFICER:

Ms B G Tshabalala

SECRETARIAT:

Ms B G Tshabalala

MINUTES

ITEM 55/2011

(DEPARTMENT: MUNICIPAL MANAGER)

ESTABLISHMENT OF WARD COMMITTEES AND APPOINTMENT OF COUNCIL REPRESENTATIVES ON VARIOUS COMMITTEES (MM3/2/3/2/1)(MM3/1/2)

RESOLVED:

- 1. that Council establish a Ward Committee System in terms of section 73 of the Local Government: Municipal Structures Act, 1998 (Act no 117 of 1998).
- 2. that the proportionally elected Councillors be assigned to wards as reflected below:

WARD	PR COUNCILLOR
1	(Mrs) L U Makhalema
2	(Mrs) T J Tshabalala
3 4	P A Maasdorp B D L Venter
5	J J H Pienaar
6	T V Mofokeng
7	D Stevens
8	(Ms) M K Mofokeng
9	(Mrs) H E Mokoena
10	C C Harrington
11	M M Radebe
12	(Ms) M A Noosi
13	M J Mokoena
14	(Mrs) M Prior

15	P H J Olivier
16	T P Ramaele
17	L J Lemako
18	N M Mosupa
19	(Ms) D M Mofokeng
20	P D Lengoabala

- 3. that Council provides administrative support to the ward committees in terms of section 73(4) of the Local Government: Municipal Structures Act, 1998 (Act no 117 of 1988) as well as out of pocket expenses in terms of section 73 5(a) and (c).
- 4. that the following procedure for the elections of ward committees be applied:
 - 4.1 that a minimum of 50 residents form a quorum
 - 4.2 that representation in terms of section 73(2)(b) of the Local Government: Municipal Structures Act, 1998 (Act no 117 of 1998) be determined as follows:-

4.2.1 Women - 6 4.2.2 Men - 4

- 5. that the attached establishment notice for ward committees be adopted with the amendment that the meetings will start on 26 July 2011.
- 6. that the following Councillors be appointed as members of the Portfolio Committees listed below:
 - 6.1 Finance Portfolio Committee:

Chairperson

Councillor P D Lengoabala

Members:

- 1. Councillor T J Tseki
- 2. Councillor J F Bonthuys
- 3. Councillor D Stevens
- 4. Councillor P P Mokoena
- Councillor (Ms) M K Mofokeng
- 6.2 Public Works Agriculture and Rural Development Portfolio Committee:

Chairperson

Councillor T J Seekane

Members:

- 1. Councillor N N Nzimande
- 2. Councillor T A Masoeu
- 3. Councillor (Mrs) M A Mokoena
- 4. Councillor M St. V Mofokeng
- 5. Councillor (Mrs) A L Rakhothule-Mkhwanazi

6.3 <u>Community Services Portfolio Committee</u>:

Chairperson

Councillor (Mrs) N M Mosupa

Members:

- 1. Councillor (Ms) M E Sempe
- 2. Councillor (Mrs) M Prior
- 3. Councillor R P Mofokeng
- 4. Councillor (Mrs) M A Mokoena
- 5. Councillor (Ms) M R Mokoena

6.4 Local Economic Development Portfolio Committee:

Chairperson

Councillor C C Harrington

Members:

- 1. Councillor M J Mokoena
- 2. Councillor N N Nzimande
- 3. Councillor R P Mofokeng
- 4. Councillor (Mrs) S M Jacobs
- 5. Councillor M J Radebe

6.5 <u>Corporate Services Portfolio Committee</u>:

Chairperson

Councillor (Mrs) L U Makhalema

Members:

- 1. Councillor M St. V Mofokeng
- 2. Councillor P H J Olivier
- 3. Councillor T P Ramaele
- 4. Councillor (Mrs) S M Jacobs
- 5. Councillor (Ms) T M Mofokeng

6.6 Human Settlements Portfolio Committee:

Chairperson

Councillor (Mrs) D M Mofokeng

Members:

- 1. Councillor G J Roetz
- 2. Councillor (Ms) T M Mofokeng
- 3. Councillor M J Tshabalala
- 4. Councillor (Mrs) H E Mokoena
- Councillor M D Shabalala

6.7 <u>IDP, Performance Management & Monitoring Portfolio Committee</u>:

Chairperson

Councillor L J Lemako

Members:

- 1. Councillor M J Tshabalala
- 2. Councillor J J H Pienaar

- 3. Councillor P A Maasdorp
- 4. Councillor (Mrs) H E Mokoena
- 6.8 Women, Children, Disability and Vulnerable Groups Portfolio Committee:

Chairperson

Councillor (Mrs) T J Tshabalala

Members:

The meeting terminated at 10:53.

- 1. Councillor (Mrs) A L Rakhothule-Mkhwanazi
- 2. Councillor B D L Venter
- 3. Councillor (Ms) M K Mofokeng
- 4. Councillor S Msimanga
- 7. that it be delegated to the Speaker to appoint Councillor Representatives for the following Committees and Structures:
 - 7.1 Executive Committee of SALGA
 - 7.2 Provincial and District IGR Structures
 - 7.3 SALA Pension Fund (one representative)
- 8. that the schedule of dates for Council, Mayco and Section 80 Committees be noted.
- 9. that it be noted that the Speaker has elected Councillors C C Harrington, L J Lemako and (Mrs) S M Jacobs to represent Council on the General Committee of the Free State Municipal Pension Fund in terms of the authority delegated to her in terms of Council Resolution 51/2008 of 1 August 2008 and that the name of another Councillor representing the Democratic Alliance be forwarded to the Speaker for inclusion in the committee.

3	
DATE	
DATE	SPEAKER